Another Tear By Traci Bee

Kevin Kennard gazed into the precious face of his newborn son, the offspring of the intoxicating love he shared with his wife, Simone. Closing his eyes, Kevin whispered a prayer of thanks. Life had given him a second chance at happiness far greater than anything he’d fathomed from inside the concrete walls of his prison cell. While Kevin and Simone bask in their familial bliss, those scorned by their union collect the pieces to their shattered hearts and plot the couple’s demise. Darkness hovers the Kennards when their newborn baby becomes the target for revenge. A tidal wave of fatal events stifles the sanctity Kevin and Simone have come to cherish. Kevin had promised those he loved that his gun-toting days were a thing of the past. But with nothing else to live for, he journeys to find the person responsible for the devastation reeked in his world. Someone will pay for what they’ve done to his family, even if it cost Kevin his own life. In the award winning novel, “Two Tears in a Bucket,” Kevin and Simone reminded us how powerful and lasting the bonds of love can be. But can it weather, Another Tear?

 

Excerpt:

 

Trapped in the darkness, Simone struggled to free herself. She hated when her body became immobile but her mind remained fully conscious. Normally, when she hallucinated in her sleep, her surroundings seemed clear. But this time, a still blackness haunted her. She struggled to wake. Finally, after a fluster of forced blinks, her eyes opened. Slowly, the objects around her began to take form.

An older Caucasian man stood two inches taller than Kevin. A head full of salt-and-pepper curls, a slowly aging face of soft wrinkles, and his lean build clothed in an expensive-looking navy blue suit; everything about him screamed money. His mouth moved, yet silence flowed as he chatted with her husband. Pain was etched in Kevin’s face as he listened, his back resting against the wall to support his feeble stance as he stared out at nothing. Angela sat in a chair, black mascara smeared around her eyes. Dried-up tears stained her cheeks.

Kevin’s lips moved. She knew his lips well and read what seemed to be “Still no word on…” The doctor’s nod cut Kevin off before he could finish asking his question.

What’s going on? Simone questioned. She couldn’t hear a thing. Nothing but the continuously, annoying beep from the heart monitor. Is that machine for me? I’m in the hospital?

She grunted and pulled, but couldn’t move. Something was holding her down. Her surroundings were too vivid for it to be a hallucination.

The doctor took a step toward the door. No, don’t leave!

Simone grew frustrated. Wait a minute! Her ears popped. Her hearing had returned. Relieved, she called after the doctor. Doc!

Kevin leaned against the wall with his hand on his forehead. “Doc.”

Thank you, baby, Simone said.

Though Kevin’s voice was muffled and seemingly as weak as hers, he was closer to the doctor. Lifting his head, he stared at the doctor through red eyes stained from crying.

“There’s really nothing you can do? I mean, suppose she was the president? What would y’all do then? I can’t take fifty-fifty, Doc. I need something more concrete. I need you to tell me she’s going to be okay.”

The doctor sighed as he searched for the right words of comfort.

“Unfortunately, Mr. Kennard, we’ve done everything we can. Pulling through something like this is up to the patient. It just depends on their will to live.”

I’ve pulled through, doc. Kevin, I’m up. It’s okay baby, Simone said.

“Can she hear us?” Kevin asked.

Yes, I can hear you. You can’t hear me? Simone cleared her throat. Is that better? Can you hear me now? 

“In most cases, they can,” the doctor shared. “So talk to her. It can only help.”

Okay, I have got to get out of this bed.

Simone tugged. She pulled. But no matter her attempt, she couldn’t free herself from the bed. To gather strength, she relaxed and filled her lungs with air. Fueled by determination, she gave another powerful tug until finally, she sat up in bed.

It happened in slow motion. Angela’s gut wrenching, boundless wails bedeviled the room as her body gradually descended from the chair to the floor. Kevin’s eyes bulged in fear as he and the doctor leaped across the room to Simone’s bedside.

Simone turned to the heart monitor. The continuously, annoying beep was gone. In its place: a flatline.

 
 Traci Bee is the award-winning author of the Kindle drama chart topping, Two Tears in a Bucket. When she’s not writing, Traci enjoys karaoke and spending time with her family. She currently resides in Waldorf, Maryland with her husband and kids and is working on two novels; the final installment to the Two Tears in a Bucket Series and A Nickel for A Kiss.

 

Get to Know Traci:

1) HOW DID YOU COME UP WITH THE STORY LINE FOR TWO TEARS IN A BUCKET? HOW DID YOU GET THE IDEA?
 

Two Tears in a Bucket is loosely based on some personal experiences that I embellished into fiction.

2) THE RELATIONSHIP BETWEEN SIMONE AND HER PARENTS ARE VERY IMPORTANT PARTS IN THE BOOK, HOW IS YOUR RELATIONSHIP WITH YOU PARENTS?

I have always been and will always be a daddy’s girl. My dad was my absolute everything. He died nine years ago the very way Thomas died in Two Tears in a Bucket. In all actuality, Thomas was created in my father’s likeness. His jovial personality, quick wit, Southern Charm were all attributes of my dad. The bond Simone and her dad shared is identical to the bond my dad and I shared.  
My mom and I are also close. She’s one of my best friends.

3) WHO WAS YOUR INSPRIATION FOR CREATING SIMONE? DOES SHE REPRESENT SOMEONE IN REAL LIFE?

Simone is a mixture of several women that I know, myself included.

4) WHEN DID YOU KNOW THAT YOU WANTED TO WRITE? WHY DO YOU WRITE?

Writing has always been an escape.  It’s one of the rare times that my imagination can soar freely and morals and rules that tend to dictate our everyday life are tossed to the side. I can escape to my own little world where I can entertain myself and be in control of absolutely everything.

5) WHAT WAS YOUR FEAR WHEN WRITING YOUR BOOKS?

Believe it or not, I didn’t have any fears. I was doing what I enjoyed. When the book was finished, I was too excited. Fear was never a factor. 

6) WILL THERE BE A PART 3 TO THE SERIES OF TWO TEARS IN A BUCKET? IF SO DO YOU HAVE A NAME ALREADY PREPARED?

Yes, there will be one more – THE FINAL TEAR. No release date in mind yet.

7) WHAT OTHER BOOKS WILL YOU WRITE OUTSIDE OF THE TWO TEARS SERIES? WHAT CHARACTERS CAN WE EXPECT TO MEET? ARE THEY ANYTHING LIKE SIMONE AND KEVIN?

In between writing the TWO TEARS IN A BUCKET series, I’ve been toying with another title, A NICKEL FOR A KISS. Now that ANOTHER TEAR is done, A NICKEL FOR A KISS is burning holes in my fingers. My grandmother use to say, the worst beating in life is the one we give ourselves. A NICKEL FOR A KISS is Ginger Montgomery’s twisted tale of karma. It reiterates two things that we’ve all been told countless times: Know your self-worth and the grass isn’t always greener. It’s unreal the way karma comes back to haunt Ginger.

8) WHAT ADVICE WOULD YOU GIVE INSPIRING AUTHORS?

WRITE! Don’t worry about the order of the story or the grammar yet – just write! You can get a critique and edit later.  And never delete what you write, even if you’re changing the story around and feel you won’t need it. DO NOT DELETE IT. Cut and paste those scraps into a document. I have a scene that was deleted from TWO TEARS IN A BUCKET that fits into A FINAL TEAR perfectly! I was able to cut and paste it right from my scraps.
 
9) WHAT MADE YOU DECIDE TO WRITE URBAN FICTION?

There are heavy elements of drama, romance, action, fantasy and a little street lit in just about everything I write.  I didn’t set out to write to any particular genre. I simply wrote a story.

Find Traci:

Website:  www.tracibee.com
Twitter:  http://twitter.com/#!/AuthorTraciBee
Facebook:  http://facebook.com/authortracibee

 

Leave a comment

Filed under Book of the Month

Leave a Reply

